[Real Food Friday] Link Love: Kale! + Homemade Girl Scout Cookie Recipes

Since it’s Friday (and I’ve already posted once today…who am I?)  I just wanted to share two fantastic links for your enjoyment.

100 Days of Real Food – I’ve already geeked out on here and even more on Facebook about my love for 100 Days of Real Food.  Finding Lisa Leake’s blog a few years ago was a huge turning point for our diet.  I wrote a little bit about that here  and have more in queue about our transition.  But for today, I’ll share a link that I certainly appreciate: 5 Ways to Easily Eat Kale.  I often hear friends say that they have no idea how to implement this incredible super-food into their diet.  We primarily use kale in our daily smoothies but earlier this week I used it in place of spinach for a veggie lasagna.  Delish!  I think we’ll try the eggs recipe tomorrow morning…

Eating Rules – I found Andrew Wilder and his blog through 100 Days and I really like his approach.  He has three simple rules:   1) when you eat grains, only eat 100% Whole-Wheat grains 2) don’t eat high fructose corn syrup and 3) don’t eat hydrogenated oils, trans fats, or anything that’s been deep-fried.  So simple yet so not simple.  But the love this week is for his most recent post, Why I Don’t Buy Girl Scout Cookies and how the beloved treats break all three rules.  I admit, I’ve enjoyed a couple of cookies when offered here and there but we haven’t personally bought them in two years.  There are other reasons to consider not buying GSC (this blog doesn’t go there) but ultimately, they’re packed with gross stuff.  This weekend I’m finally going to try out a few Pinterest-sourced recipes for homemade Caramel Delights and all natural  Thin Mints.  (If I were super disciplined I’d try this one for Whole-Wheat, Honey, and Agave Samoas…we shall see!)

Have a beautiful weekend!  xoxo

One thought on “[Real Food Friday] Link Love: Kale! + Homemade Girl Scout Cookie Recipes

  1. Thanks for the pingback! I hope you like my recipe! Unlike the other homemade ones, I even make my caramel from scratch rather than using candy. Let me know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

