Good Friday 2014: Behold the Wood

Five years ago, I wrote on an old blog about my reflection on Isaiah 53:6, “Each of us like sheep have gone astray, Each of us has turned to his own way; But the Lord has caused the iniquity of us all to fall on Him.”
Now, I reread that text and reflect upon how my shallow ways and self-centered tendencies continue and newly materialize as a mom.  I think of how he did what he did for not just me, but for my babies.  And I am humbled beyond words.  You think nobody could love your kids as much as you do?  He does.  He loves us so much more than our little brains can comprehend.  You think you do things for your kids or loved ones that they’ll never fully appreciate or understand?  He definitely did that for me, and for us.  Today I am speechless, as I am every Good Friday.
Every blessing I have, every gift I receive, my babies’ smiles and my husband’s love…it’s all from him.  Every anxiety I feel, every worry I carry, every bad day/week/month…he felt them all at that moment. Today is a reflection of that day where he gave his own life for us, where he allowed all of our iniquities to fall on him.  And nothing can separate us from that love, from that sacrifice.  It is a terribly heartbreaking, humbling, and Good Friday.
We mourn.  We wait.  We pray.
Leave a Reply

